PokemonGo: My Childhood Dream!

Miracles (Quote from ending of Pokemon XY video games):

“You and I were born right here in the same world. For this one brief life, we’re beneath the same sky. The great flow of time. The wide expanse of space. We are lucky enough to share this lifetime we get. We can gain more if we give. By taking, we only lose. Let us make this a new age where we show our gratitude. There’s a fragile bud of hope, blooming in each of our hearts. Don’t you take that away. Our dreams are meant to be shared. Let it grow. Let it live. Let us see what it will bring. When we share in our love, we make a beautiful world. Search it out, and find the way: the point where we can all meet. The point where we’re all the same. There it lies: the future we seek. Start from there, and then we’ll forge a world where all can be free. Free to dream, and free to smile. Free to be who we will be. Let’s make sure we create…A world of our hopes and dreams. In our brief lives, we’ve managed to meet. Treasure this gift, this precious time that we have. In our brief lives, we’ve managed to meet.  Treasure this gift, this precious time that we have.”

SCAN0088It was around 1998, when I was only three years old, when I first discovered Pokémon. I was staying at my Memaw’s house when it came on TV one morning. After that day, I begged my parents until they finally allowed me to get the Pokémon Handbook; I made them read it to me every night. My father, having had to read everything for me, including the video games of trading card game, ending up loving it as much as me. We are a Pokémon family, my brother was born into it; we’ve traveled to so many events, if you name an event we were probably there, collected all the merchandise we could, and made so many memories. I credit Pokemon with teaching how to read, math skills, social skills, teamwork, sportsmanship, and so much more.

Back in its heyday, more than once every week, with a guaranteed Pokémon League led by my father on Saturdays, we would go somewhere to play Pokémon with other people. With time interest faded somewhat, and that ended the weekly league trips, but we continued going to the major events.

I got picked on in school for my love of Pokémon, among other things. My peers seemed to think it was stupid, childish, and only for boys. They, of course, had never tried it before, and had no idea what Pokémon was about. (It’s worth noting that I’ve seen many of those same peers posting on Facebook about playing PokemonGo) Though many people are now playing PokemonGo, there are still people bashing it who haven’t even bothered to find out what it really is; that is why I felt compelled to write this. Many keep saying it is dangerous, but it is only dangerous if you are stupid and don’t look up from your phone!!!!

I remember praying at night as a child for the Pokémon world to be real. I wanted so badly for Pokémon to be real not just because I wanted to explore the natural world looking for Pokémon, but also because in the Pokémon world everyone is nice and helps one another. There are differences in opinion, but everyone is brought together through that world’s version of animals.

In a way, my childhood dream has come true through PokemonGo. In a world where we have became so divided by our so called “differences,” people all over are coming together working towards a common goal: catching Pokémon! People of all ages and races are meeting up and socializing in the real world, not online; and exercising a lot! Even though there are different teams with different philosophies within the game (I’m Team Instinct by the way) people are still not letting that divide them. PokemonGo is the most wonderful thing that could have possibly happened for this world; it makes me want to cry every time I think about how similar this is the message of the XY games, and what Pokémon stands for.

Leave a Reply

