Rainy Day Reflection

Mark twain best famous quotes images pics  (10)

On this rainy day, I’ve decided to take a little time to reflect on all that has been bothering me. As Mark Twain put it, “I’ve had a lot of worries in my life, most of which never happened.”

My most recent worry has been the length of time it is taking to get my book out, and I am still not at the end of the road with it. I started writing Wolf’s WAR during my first semester of college, and here I am finishing up my third year! It turns out it took Mark Twain about seven years to write his masterpiece, Huckleberry Finn! Twain wrote some of Huckleberry Finn, and then took a long break from writing it, to work on other writings, before returning to Huckleberry Finn. They always say don’t rush perfection, and I can believe that now knowing that Twain took his time when writing his masterpieces.

Twain also said, “The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.” I whole-heartedly agree with this sentiment. I believe that God has a purpose for each life, and fulfilling that purpose will bring us true happiness. I have recently been reflecting on that; trying to figure out what my purpose is. I realize now that it is not always clear what your purpose will end up being, but you should allow God to guide you into pursuits that you feel called to. I feel called to get my book out, as I believe it was a moment of inspiration that allowed me to write it, and I believe it will help others. Writing may not be my one and only purpose in life, but I should strive to fulfill that goal for now because that will bring me great joy and fulfillment. Having any goal and thriving for it helps you feel better! Everyone should work toward something they care about, and that is just what I am going to do.

I’ve also been reflecting on why I haven’t been able to write my Wolf’s WAR series within the past few months. Every time I start to write, I start thinking about how other people reading it are going to react. Why do you think I’m so shy and reserved? Why do I not post very often on my blog, Twitter, or Facebook?   I am terrified of what people think about me! I’d like to make everyone happy, but I just can’t do that! I love who I am, and what I believe. I should know by now that everyone is unique, and that is what makes the world an interesting place. As long as I’m happy with myself, I shouldn’t care what anyone else thinks!

I hope to start posting a little more often for those of you that are interested in what I have to say, and/or my interests. I’ll leave you with my favorite Mark Twain quote, “When all else fails, write what your heart tells you. You can’t depend on your eyes when your imagination is out of focus.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

