My Review of the Deadpool Movie

There are few things that live up to expectations, especially when you dream as big as I do, but the Deadpool movie definitely surpassed my expectations.

To tell the truth, I just haven’t felt like myself lately. I haven’t been able to write in several months, and I’ve just been feeling stuck. Being the huge fan of the X-Men universe that I am, a new movie coming out always excites me, but I was iffy about even seeing the Deadpool movie.

I’m not the type of person that goes to see rated R movies, or comedies in general; as a Christian, I’m not someone who likes to be around profanity. To put this in perspective for those that don’t know me, I spent my 21st birthday visiting penguins at the science center, and made the joke, “I’m old enough to drink, chocolate milk that is.” The only rated R movie I had ever seen was The Watchmen. I saw trailers for the Deadpool movie and it looked funny to me, but as I read critics reviews that warned against seeing it, I really didn’t know what it do. I was really dying to see this movie. I prayed the night before (I’m serious), asking God to give me the power to make the right choice. The next night, I went to the Thursday premiere of the Deadpool movie.

I didn’t expect anyone would be there, and I think the movie theater had that same view. It’s a small town, if you’ve ever seen The Andy Griffith Show it’s the town of Mayberry where the real Andy Griffith grew up, and the sidewalks are rolled up around 8 pm. The movie theater had the Deadpool movie in the smallest theater they had, the one they have kid’s birthday parties in, and every seat except one ended up filled. Just being surrounded by people who were excited about the movie was quite the experience.

I credit the Deadpool movie for getting me out of the mood I was in, and making me laugh more than I have in a very long time. The Deadpool movie is a parody of itself, everything in the universe it exists within, and our reality. There are plenty of X-Men jokes, as expected, as well as many different varieties of comedy. Not only are the jokes great, the story is very well told. The acting really makes it come to life too.

If you’re a X-Fan, you’ll love the new Colossus, surprisingly comic accurate, as well as the many new characters introduced, also surprisingly close to the comics. From this movie, I believe 20th Century Fox will realize that staying true to the source material works. I can’t wait to see Deadpool shine in a team setting in future movies; that is if they are leading up to X-Force (cross your fingers). I can’t wait to see all the new films and shows they have planned that will expand upon the X-Men universe.

Deadpool is a hilarious and awesome movie that I highly recommend. I will say, DO NOT TAKE YOUR KIDS TO THIS MOVIE! You should know from the rating that it isn’t your typical superhero/X-Men movie. It has adult content, but nothing worse than some of things they have on SNL. If you are highly sensitive to violence and adult language, do not see the movie either. This is the kind of movie that some people will love and some people will hate, so you’ll just have to decide for yourself, and don’t blame me if you don’t like it.

I’m back to my awesome-crazy self, drinking Hawaiian Punch out of coffee mugs in the mornings, laughing, and smiling. I hope to start writing some more on my books soon, and give you some updates on Wolf’s WAR, so please stay tuned my one follower (the other follower is me).

 

Leave a Reply

